Author Spotlight: Mark Taylor

marktaylor2

Mark Taylor is a fairly new author to me. Have only known him a couple years and met on facebook through many of the same author friends. Mark is witty, kind, a true gentleman, and can be found living in England. Sadly, I don’t know a whole lot about Mark, and I do plan on changing that soon.

Mark has many books out, and they can all be found on his author page on Amazon. His debut novel was published in 2013. Brooding style has lead to novels and short story collections.

https://www.amazon.com/Mark-Taylor/e/B003WFQ1N0/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1494333394&sr=8-1

Mark’s books can be found in Kindle edition and also paperback.

One is a killer. One is the right hand of the Devil. Which is worse?

Angela Mitchell hates her life. When debonair stranger, Marcel, turns up in her library one night things look to be on the up. But neither of them saw Darin in the shadows.

Angela certainly never saw Hell coming to earth.

When Marcel and Darin clash, Angela is dragged through the sulfur stench of Hades, has to fight for her life, and drinks wine. Lots of wine.

Crossing Guard is part one of the Hell Noir series: The Devil’s Hand, a dark fantasy with spatters of humor and a dash of inter-dimensional romance.

Without employ you are nothing. Leander is without employ. If only he hadn’t shared that sandwich he wouldn’t have ended up lying in a bunk next to a man called Chimp, with a moist blanket over him.

But then he couldn’t have ended up working at Total Entertainment. The only entertainment company.

Leander works in Stimulated Awakenings. He creates Cerebral Implants. Dreams. Dreams sold as interactive adventures to those that can afford them. But Leander has a problem. The reality he is in and the other one are becoming a bit of a blur. He’s beginning to doubt what is real, and what is a dream.

And he’s been told without uncertainty, that is the point.

Trapped in an employ he cannot resign from, Leander fights to understand the politics of the community he works in, finding friends and discovering enemies is only the beginning. Once he begins to understand, he realizes that he understands nothing.

It is all very confusing.

Hemorrhaging realities, A Night At The Dream Theater creates a cocktail of hard science, bloody horror, and twisted humor.

 

Mark did take time out of his busy writing schedule to answer a few questions.

1. How old were you when you wrote your first story?

I started writing a little when I was still in school. My English teacher told me I wrote like Douglas Adams. Then it lapsed. Stupidly. I moved into music, played with a metal band and forgot all about it. When I picked it up again in my thirties it changed my life. The rest, as they say, is history.

2. Did you always want to be a writer?

Yes and no. I always wanted to create. And now I write, I love writing. But I always wanted to be Master Superior of the Universe, too. But that’s looking less likely, these days.

3. What do you love most about writing? Hate about it?

I love creating worlds. People. Making them interact and grow. To see them feel. To watch them step away from the page and become themselves.

And then kill them. Usually by flaying. I’m a sadist.

I don’t really hate anything about writing. But some of the other stuff? Geez. Self-promotion sucks. Can’t do it. No way.

Buy my book!

4. Did you read a lot growing up?

Do comic books count? I did. Probably more than I do now. I grew up a specky nerd, so technically it was my job to have my face buried in a book. My job? No. MY DUTY!

5. Did you have a favorite book / story growing up?

No question: The Little Vampire series, by Angela Sommer-Bodenburg.

6. How many books do you have available?

Twelve at the moment, but several in process. I have novels finished, some in editing, some in beta. It’s all go.

7. For a new reader, which book should they start at?

Hm. That’s a toughie. I would probably say The Devil’s Hand, book one, Crossing Guard. It gives over my style well, and is a relatively short read.

8. Any new releases soon?

The final book of The Hand – Countdown – is coming out April 14, along with a paperback compendium of full quadrilogy, with extras – new stories, guest artwork, and more – sometime after. Then I’ve got a couple more Short Cuts in the pipeline.

9. Willing to give any hints to your current WIP?

I’ve got three on the go at the moment. The most interesting – and one that I’m receiving stellar feedback from my beta group – is a neo-noir thriller about drug cartels and mob syndicates. With vampires.

10. Is there any topic off limits?

Not really. I don’t write about the things that usually appear in submission no goes anyway (sexual assault etc.) but I’m pretty open. I’ve written about, sometimes touched on, most nasty things.

11. Who were / are your influences?

I obviously read a lot of horror, but these days it’s everyone. I read anything. Indie writer Dimpra Kaleem writes amazing characters – he’s an influence. Chuck Wendig. Influence. Stephen King. Clive Barker. Josh Bazell. Dave Turner.

12. If you weren’t a writer, what do you think you would be doing?

Movie director. Without question. Or bum. Chicken eating alcoholic. Man in park shouting at pigeons.

13. If you could live in a book for a day, which book and why?

I’d want to live in a really big one. Made out of fabric. My bed. Preferably, I’d live in my bed for a day.

14. Anything we would be surprised to know about you?

Morgan Freeman narrates my every action.

15. What would be the title of your autobiography?

“And Who Thought This Would Be A Good Idea?” – Actually, I have considered writing an autobiography, but with an unreliable narrator.

16. Current favorite book / author?

I can’t answer that. There are thousands of authors who are my favorite, that I haven’t even discovered yet.

17. What, if anything, are you currently reading?

A selection of novellas from Dimpra Kaleem, funnily enough.

18. Are you ever afraid of running out of ideas?

Should I live until the stars become sand, the solar winds cease, and the heartbeat of the universe dulls, I still won’t have had time to finish writing it all down.

19. How do you celebrate when you finish a book?

I juggle chainsaws. It’s sort of a will-there-be-a-sequel-or-not routine. It keeps me on my toes. And I usually have a take out.

20. Please describe your perfect day.

Get up (always a win).
Write novel.
Successfully juggle chainsaws.
Sell novel.
Make millions.
Eat chicken.
Beer.
Watch Star Wars (again).
Bed.

21. Which POV do you prefer to write in and why?

Third person limited. And honestly? It’s easiest.

22. How do you like to spend your free time?

We’ve just purchased a house that needs refurbing. I have no free time. But aside from writing, I enjoy a variety of TV shows, and I watch films. And I run a little movie blog. I like cooking. I like cats. I love lamp. And walking. I like walking. Eating out. I have a day job I like.

THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH HOURS IN THE DAY.

23. Do you use TWITTER / FACEBOOK / NEWS LETTER ? Post links!

Facebook(s):

https://www.facebook.com/Mark.Taylor.Author
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMarkTaylor/

Twitter:

twitter.com/filingwords

Blog(s):

http://filingwords.blogspot.com
http://deadcelluloid.blogspot.com

24. Advice for future writers?

Learn the rules of writing because you have to. Break them because you want too.

 

Awesome Mark!! Thank you so very much. It was an honor to have you here. I hope to spotlight you again soon. You rock !!!!!

 

happy reading

~TMB~

Leave a Reply

