March Author Spotlight Dan Weatherer

danweatherer Dear Readers, I would like to introduce you to multi talented author Dan Weatherer. Play writer, author, blogger, son, husband, father and friend. Dan and I became friends on facebook December 2015. It’s been a great friendship. His blog is amazing, his stories even more amazing. If you haven’t read anything by him, you truly are missing out on great stuff. My favorite of Dan’s is his short story collection NEVERLIGHT. His stories are full of emotions, horror, sadness, love, you name it, it’s in there. NEVERLIGHT was my very first short story collection. I was just totally blown away by it. Dan is a brilliant writer. To tell you about a few stories from this great collection ….

neverlight

KILLING GARY – I don’t know why this story cracked me up but it did. It’s set in a police interrogation room. DCI Honeysett and PC Nelson are questioning Kirsten. She is being questioned in the murders of a couple people. Who have a couple things in common, pissing her off and their names. Kirsten hides nothing, tells it like it is and goes bat shit crazy when she hears the middle name of DCI Honeysett.

MY FIRST HORROR STORY – This one made me giggle and the ending, simply put, brilliant. Timmy and Suzie are siblings. Timmy learns in class the importance of Heaven. What it takes to get there, and the value of the soul and the afterlife. He also is taught, that even if you are a bad person throughout your life, if you beg God for forgiveness, you can still be granted entrance to Heaven. He starts forming a plan, and it involves his six year old annoying baby sister suzie. Timmy tries to make one deal and ends up making another. The price, his sister’s soul. The length he goes to achieve that…… mind boggling what a ten year old could think up. If only Timmy had kept his eyes on a few other things, the ending would have been completely different.

This next story I talk about is Dan’s personal favorite …..

THE WITHERED TOUCH – Jenson Brady was cursed with the most peculiar of things. Wherever he went, death followed. Birds fell out of the sky, as did every kind of bug. Flowers wilted, petals falling off, even crops would wither and die. He was shunned and made a mockery of. Jenson learned how to avoid the people and the town where he lived. Walking on the outskirts of town, living a lonely life. In time, he found a helpful way to use this curse. In the saddest of time, when the soul is ready to fly, Jenson would come for a visit and help those in need. He longed to love and Grace longed to love him. When they finally meet, it will make your heart sing.

Here is my personal favorite in this collection…..

THE RAVEN AND THE WOLF – A wolf pushing north, deep into the cold, far away from his once family pack. Tired and hungry, the wolf curls up into a tight ball and waits the coming storm out. The sound of wings fluttering awakens the wolf. Instincts kick in and he’s on the hunt. What he finds, a mob of birds attacking their own. In saving that one bird, he has made a friend and companion. One who can fly high and seek out prey for the wolf. Together they find all that they need and some things that they don’t. The trials the raven and the wolf go through, will make you cheer them on. Make you wish for food to be found around every corner. You want them to make it to where they want and need to go. Circle of life. Brilliant.

Some other books by Dan are THE SOUL THAT SCREAMED, WHAT DWELLS WITHIN,  and DAYLIGHT DIMS just to name a few. You can check out a complete list at Dan’s author page on amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/Dan-Weatherer/e/B00BUKYLEA/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1489032328&sr=8-2

On Thursday, Dan’s film BEIGE will be shown on Opening Night at the Beeston Film Festival. As it will also be screened as part of the Birmingham Horror Convention in late October. Dan will also be guesting in Birmingham. Lets not forget Midland’s Movies that BEIGE will be a part of too. I couldn’t be happier. Dan is brilliant and talented, deserves this and so much more!!

Dan took time out of his very busy schedule to answer some questions for us…..

Thanks, Tina.

Best of luck with your writing!

  1. Did you always want to be a writer?

No, as a youngster I don’t think I ever saw myself as making a career from writing. I enjoyed creative writing at school, but the chances to write stories etc. were few and far between. Also, I had (and have) terrible handwriting, and when every piece of schoolwork had to be handwritten, I was chastised far too many a time about my handwriting!

  1. What does a day of writing look like?

There’s no set routine when it comes to writing, at least for me. I work from home, and as such spend most of my day looking after my infant son (2) and daughter (6), doing all the parent chores, and writing around them whenever I can.

I do tend to allocate writing time to specific tasks – I find it hard to wrote new material if there are other matters that need my attention. So, I might spend my first available writing time responding to emails, or filling in interviews. Another time I might concentrate on submitting new material, or chasing up work already under consideration. I also make time for promoting material and often work on projects for the community or other artists. Actually writing new material probably only accounts for a third of my working hours!

  1. What do you love most about writing?

What could be better than doing what I love for a living? There’s a great freedom to writing; not only am I my own boss, but what other job encourages you to share your ideas and imagination with others?

Connecting with a reader, or being able to help another artist land an opportunity, these are the most rewarding aspects of this vocation – and it is a vocation (as I’m sure most writers will tell you!). I’m a strong believer in helping others along the way and that carries its own set of rewards.

  1. Is there anything you don’t like about it?

You might have had this answer before, but writing can be an extremely solitary experience. I’m quiet and reserved by nature, but I sometimes miss the comradery of the office job (and the Christmas party!).

  1. Any topic you won’t write about?

As a father, I steer clear of subjects such as child abuse. If it is necessary for the story, then I only go so far as to imply. In fact, much of my horror work is implied. I don’t think it’s a conscious choice, I just feel my writing benefits more that way.

  1. How many books do you have available?

At present, four. Three collections (Neverlight, Only The Good Burn Bright, and The Soul That Screamed) and one non-fiction (What Dwells Within).  What Dwells Within discusses the early work of Paranormal investigator Jayne Harris.

  1. Any new releases coming out soon?

Yes, plenty! There’s my upcoming collection Just Eventide, that I hope to announce soon. My book of stage plays and advice for budding playwrights The Dead Stage, will be released by Crystal Lake Publishing early 2018, and then there’s my novels, The Tainted Isle and The Underclass, both of which are with my agent.  These books represent my best work to date, and I’m looking forward to their release.

  1. What are you currently working on?

I’ve just finished a screenplay and have passed it to my agent. I intend to start my latest novel this week. It will be based on my stage play, Crippen.

  1. How do you think today’s authors inspire? How about the classics?

I think there is a desire to write in many of us. Do other authors inspire us? Possibly, in terms of showing that it is possible to write and see your work published.  It’s also possible that other authors can inspire us with an idea.

I’m inspired by a local author by the name of Arnold Bennett, not so much as for what he wrote, but because he wrote. He is idolised in literary circles, and as a born and bred Stokie, I aim to follow in his footsteps.

  1. If it ever hits, how do you deal with writer’s block?

I wait it out. That answer will probably annoy some, but I’m a firm believer that you cannot force creativity. I’ve usually a million and one other things to be getting on with, and I have confidence that an idea will land sooner or later. And they do. I’ve found inspiration in the most unlikely of places!

  1. What would be the title of your autobiography?

Ha! I love this question. I genuinely don’t know! Ask me again in ten years’ time!

  1. Do you listen to music or do you like silence when you write?

I cannot listen to music, not even when editing. Perhaps it’s because I’ve young children, but I need silence to write. I’ve even switched the laptop tray fan off before because it was a distraction.

I know many writers work to music, but I find it disrupts my flow, and clouds my thoughts. I need to hear what’s in my head free from outside influence.

  1. What is your favourite book, and author?

Another tough question. My tastes change as often as the wind! I’m a fan of Clive Barker, Brett Easton Ellis, Stephen King, H.P. Lovecraft, Thomas Harris and Edgar Allen Poe.

  1. If you could ask 1 question to any author, who would you ask and what would the question be?

How do you stop the self-doubt? To who? Anyone serious about their writing. But I know the answer; you never can stop it. It’s intrinsic to our nature.

  1. What do you look for in a book you want to read?

It must hold my attention. Same for anything, be it a film, game or even a conversation! I’ve a woeful attention span!

  1. If you could live in a book for a day, what book and why?

The Divine Comedy – by Dante Alighieri. Why? I’d like to see Hell for myself, but remain free of scorch marks.

  1. Who were/are your writing influences?

Arnold Bennett, because he was local and became a literary giant. H.P Lovecraft/Poe, for their ability to conjure dread, and Brett Easton Ellis for…you’ll see below.

  1. Are you ever afraid of running out of ideas?

No. There will always be more, you just need to be open to them. I also feel that I have a solid portfolio of work behind me with regards to theatre/film/books, that I can be rightly proud of.

  1. How do you keep track of events and characters as you write?

I have a very rough series of notes on any given project, and the rest is instinct. I admit, it can be quite terrifying working that way, but I honestly believe that you should listen to your characters, and write what comes. If there are any plot gaps or character anomalies, they can easily be addressed in the rewrite. Perhaps my approach is more organic than planned, but so far it has worked for me.

  1. How do you celebrate when you finish one of your stories or plays?

Ha! I don’t. I don’t know if I ever feel I have finished anything! I’m quite boring in that I send it out for submission/to my agent, then try to forget about it and move on to the next project.

Perhaps I should celebrate more, but I always feel there is more to do. I’ll celebrate when (and if) I retire.

  1. Do you ……. Facebook / twitter / blog / newsletter?

I do Facebook – look me up as Dan Weatherer.

https://www.facebook.com/FatherDarkness

Twitter – @dweatherer21

Website/blog www.danweatherer.com It’s worth a visit as I’ve always got something going on!

  1. Describe your perfect day.

A perfect day is a productive day, as in I’ve written something half decent, maybe I’ve had an acceptance, or a project I’ve initiated finally gets the go-ahead. The kids have been well behaved, there’s a good meal to look forwards to, and the wife is at home rather than away at work.

  1. What is the scariest book you have read?

I don’t really get scared these days – I think I’ve become desensitised to a lot of what passes as horror nowadays. However, the most unsettling book I’ve read is American Psycho, by Brett Easton Ellis. It is possibly the most graphic piece of literature I’d read up until that point in my life. I admire him for writing it, and it remains one of my favourite books, not for the content, but because it exists. (I’m a huge fan of the way it is presented from a technical point of view.)

  1. If you weren’t a writer, what do you think you would be doing today?

Likely pissing my life away in a dead-end job like I was before. Redundancy, though difficult at the time, was a blessing for me.

  1. Any advice for future writers?

Finish your first draft. Don’t sweat on how it reads. Don’t sweat on how it feels. Put it away for a while until you feel that you MUST return to it – then rewrite it. The real work begins at the rewrite stage.

THANK YOU DAN!!!! Dear readers, check out Dan and his amazing books.

BUY THEM, READ THEM, REVIEW THEM!

Happy Reading,

~TMB~

Leave a Reply

