October Author Spotlight KIT POWER

Kit Power is a great friend, and brilliant writer. Have only known him a short time, and it’s been an amazing ride. Hop aboard ….

Kit lives in the UK with this lovely family. He’s witty, funny, kind, smart, talented, an all around great guy, and you will adore him, just as much as I do. When not writing, he’s front man for The Disciples Of Gonzo, http://www.disciplesofgonzo.com . This man’s talent knows no bounds. If you haven’t picked up one of his books, or an anthology that he’s been a part of, you are truly missing out!

All of Kit’s books are available on http://www.amazon.com and can be easily found on his author page. Kit’s books come in paperback and kindle formats.

https://www.amazon.com/Kit-Power/e/B00K6J438K/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1476090329&sr=1-1

The first book of Kit’s that I read was GODBOMB. It’s a very thought provoking book. I know it made me think about my beliefs (or lack of beliefs). Twists and turns you won’t expect, and an ending that will catch you off guard, and shock you.

Not too long ago, I did review GODBOMB on here… you can find that here..

https://tinamariesbookreviews.wordpress.com/2016/07/03/godbomb-by-kit-power/

Second book of Kit’s that I have read is BREAKING POINT. A stunning collection of 4 short stories. A couple of my favorite stories was LIFELINE, and GENESIS.

LIFELINE, a brilliant story that will get your heart racing. It’s about a guy, who while on his way home from work is kidnapped and tortured. What will he do to survive, to get home to the family that he loves? Will he make it out alive?

GENESIS is another brilliant story is this collection. This is actually a prequel to GODBOMB. This little gem gives you some insight into the mind of the madman from GODBOMB. What got him so upset at GOD, what made him question his belief, and why he did what he did. This story works beautifully weather you read it before or after GODBOMB.

The other 2 brilliant stories in this collection are just as great. THE LOVING HUSBAND AND THE FAITHFUL WIFE, along with THE DEBT.

Kit Power is a genius and you would foolish passing up any of his books. I’m looking forward to continuing to follow his writing career and reading all his stories.

Kit took time out of his extremely busy schedule to let me interview him. THANKS KIT!

1. How old were you when you discovered books?

I was taught to read by my mother before I attended school at age five, so books have always been a part of my life. We also didn’t own a television set until I was seven years old, so the evening’s entertainment was often reading aloud from books. My mum and I read Lord Of The Rings to each other over nine months.

2. Did you read a lot growing up?

I did, yeah. I remember vividly at age five when I had been demonstrating my reading to the teacher and she said ‘Good – now, can you read it in your head?’. It was a life changing moment – not least because it instantly more than doubled my reading speed. From that day to this, there has simply never been a period of my life I wasn’t reading a book as part of my day.

3. A favorite childhood book?

Revenge of the Cybermen and Terror of the Autons by Terrance Dicks. I had the Target paperbacks and re-read them many times. I haven’t gone back to ‘…Cybermen’ as an adult, but I did revisit ‘..Autons’ for a recent My Life In Horror and then a podcast appearance, and it held up very well, I thought.

4. A favorite book / author now?

Stephen King is simply one of the very best writers working in popular fiction today. IT is my favourite – technically that also counts as a favourite childhood book, as I first read IT aged eleven, but it’s still a favorite today, and I can appreciate it now in ways I couldn’t then (though, as I type that, I realise the reverse is also true).

5. What inspired you to go into writing?

Reading Stephen King’s ‘On Writing’, not long after I’d completed a distance learning course and realised that if I really put my mind to it, I had spare time to do something other than work at my day job or watch TV. I’d always enjoyed writing short fiction as a kid – it was basically the only part of school I actively enjoyed – but barring the odd flurry of creativity in my 20’s it wasn’t something I pursued actively until far more recently.

6. If not an author, what do you think you would be doing now?

I’d probably have more PS3 trophies, and a nagging sense that I was wasting my time. I mean, either way I’d still be doing the day job, so…

7. What does a day of writing look like?

Heaven on earth! I don’t get a day of writing. I get a day of work, an evening hanging with my amazing daughter then, if I am lucky, and hour or ninety minutes at the keyboard before I hang with my equally amazing wife. It’s catch-as-catch-can, which my recent podcasting commitments haven’t helped with.

8. Is there any topic off limits?

No, because I’m pretty much a free speech absolutist, and I don’t believe anyone, including me, has the right not to be offended. That said, there are certain acts, behaviors, and philosophies that I consider offensive, harmful, evil. I’m unlikely to write stories that glorify those behaviours, though I might seek to understand (to understand is not to excuse, to be clear). But, I mean, if fiction even has a point beyond entertainment, surely it’s to explore situations and ideas that we’d not want to experience in real life? I think in that respect, fiction may be the original, and ultimate, ‘safe space’ for author and reader alike.

9. Which POV do you like to write in?

The requirements of the story always dictates, of course, but my favourite is first person. Probably the theatre background – I really like getting right inside a person’s head, putting their mind out on to the page.

10. Do you have a favorite writing spot? Time of day? Music or Silence?

At my dining room table, typically, though I love getting a table seat on a train, because that always feels like free bonus writing time. Music, always music, matched to the mood of what I am writing.

11. How do you unwind after a day of writing?

TV – I’ve been watching Ray Donovan, which goes some way to filling the Sopranos shaped hole in my life – it’s derivative and not as good, but the acting is just superb. Billions season one was fun. And I always read for 20 minutes or so before going to sleep, it’s how I unwind.

12. If you could change anything, would you?

With the writing thing? Yeah, I’d somehow be making enough money to be doing it full time! 🙂 It’s fulfilling to me in a way few other things are.

13. How much research goes into your writing?

As much as I need to. I mean, the internet has changed everything in this regard – want to do a period piece on the St. Valentine’s Day massacre? Twenty minutes on Google, I’ve got the names and physical descriptions and sketch bios of the shooters and the victims, and a sidebar piece on what the gangster slang and swearing of the period was like. It’s amazing. Most of my fiction is either contemporary or, occasionally, sci-fi though, which requires a lot less work than historical fiction. I do also have a ten year reading list for a big alt-history epic I have planned though – so it really depends on the project.

14. If you could live in a book for a day, which book would it be?

One of the early chapters of Book 2 of IT, before the shit really starts hitting the fan with The Loser’s Club. I’d hang out at The Barrens and help them build a dam. Bliss.

15. What are you currently working on?

A novella that’s taken entirely too damn long is finally limping to the end of the D1. Edits on my first short story collection. Initial notes on what will become My Life In Horror Volume One. And some very, very impatient ideas backed up behind that D1, clammering for attention. Oh, and my new podcast, though I’m a couple of months ahead of schedule on that one, at least.

16. What do you love most about being an author? Hate most?

Love most the freedom. It’s pure escape. Whatever my day has been, for that hour at the work in progress, I’m somewhere and somewhen else, transcribing the events that I’m seeing, the things I am feeling my characters feel.

I really don’t hate anything about being an author. Almost all my writing related frustrations stem from the not-author parts of my life, and my lack of discipline, given that, with making time for the author part.

Though writing synopsis or blurbs isn’t a lot of fun, and seems to take forever.

17. Do you keep anything handy to take notes if an idea comes?

Usually I have a small notebook and a pen, yeah. Not always, I am pretty disorganised. But usually.

18. Scariest book you have ever read?

Sleepers, which is based on a true story.

19. Indie author vs mainstream, one better than the other?

Nah. There’s genius and crap in both markets.

20. Do you ……. Twitter / Newsletter / Blog ?

I do Tweet – @KitGonzo. I also blog, mainly at http://www.gingernutsofhorror.com/my-life-in-horror.html – my monthly column where I talk about formative encounters with horror. I also have a Patreon – https://www.patreon.com/kitpower – which I am using to fund my podcast and give fans early access to my writing. That’s certainly something I am planning on developing more over the coming months as a platform, Patreon feels to me like an amazing way to slowly build an income stream as a writer, while maintaining a close relationship with your readers. And if I’m doing it right, it should feel like it provides value for participants, by granting access in exchange for a very small monthly payment. I’m absurdly grateful that my podcast has become self funding after just one episode, and I don’t take that kind of support for granted.

21. Any new releases coming up?

A WARNING ABOUT YOUR FUTURE ENSLAVEMENT THAT YOU WILL DISMISS AS A COLLECTION OF SHORT STORIES AND ESSAYS BY KIT POWER.

22. How do you celebrate when you finish a book?

Well, there’s finishing and finishing. Normally I have so many projects on the go that I don’t have time for a celebration as such, but I do try and mark the occasion of the day the physical proof of the book arrives on my doormat. There’s something emotional about holding the object in my hands.

23. Any advice for future authors?

Write more, Facebook less (but do Facebook – you’ll meet people and it will open doors). Find good critical readers and listen to them. Be polite and friendly to book bloggers and reviewers – they give their time for free and can help you find new readers, so have respect for them and their time and craft. Keep writing. Be restless. Challenge yourself with each new story – and I don’t mean just ‘this is going to be better’, I mean a concrete challenge – use a POV you never have before, ban yourself from using commas, or adverbs, try dialogue only… Experiment with form as well as genre. The first million words is all learning anyway, so keep flinging words at the page, and figure out what sticks. Also, and this should be obvious, but be wildly passionate about the story you’re trying to tell – because if it doesn’t move you, there’s little chance it’s gonna move anyone else, And as none of us are likely to get rich doing this, we might as well try and enjoy it. 🙂

Awesome, Thank you again Kit!!

Dear Readers, go buy Kit’s books, you won’t be sorry!

Love,

~TMB~

 

One thought on “October Author Spotlight KIT POWER

Leave a Reply

