September Author Spotlight Luke Smitherd

lukesmitherd3

Luke Smitherd is this month’s spotlight. I came across Luke’s books little over a year ago. I had gotten an email from bookbub.com with my daily deals and there was a book titled THE STONE MAN. A great science fiction book. It starts out with a stone man appearing out of nowhere. It doesn’t move right away, but when it does, it doesn’t stop until it gets where it needs to go. Reporter Andy Pointer is there when the stone man shows up. He is bound and determined to find out where it came from, why is it here, and where is it going. Then the headaches and visions start. Is he somehow connected to the stone man? How far is too far? Andy must discover the answer and find out who he really is, in the shadow of the Stone Man.

This book was a really great read. Suspenseful, heart-stopping, action packed, and it pretty much left me breathless. The ending, you will NOT see coming and it will leave you in shock. Luke knows how to tell a great story!

https://www.amazon.com/Stone-Man-Science-Fiction-Thriller-ebook/dp/B00AHJIJF2/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

THE STONE MAN is available on Amazon for only $2.99.

Another favorite story of Luke’s is IN THE DARKNESS, THAT’S WHERE I’LL KNOW YOU: THE COMPLETE BLACK ROOM STORY. When this first came out, it was in four parts. I devoured these books. It’s the story of Charlie and Minnie. Charlie is a local bartender, and after a night out, he wakes up in a dark place. Before him is a floating screen. Where is he? He is in fact, inside Minnie’s mind. He can see what she sees, hear her, talk to her, and why does he feel he KNOWS her?

This book blew me away! Full of heart and soul, suspense, and nail biting action. By the end, I was left sobbing! I truly loved loved loved this book!

lukesmitherd Only $2.99 on Amazon right now!

https://www.amazon.com/Darkness-Thats-Where-Ill-Know-ebook/dp/B00V9KD02A/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Luke’s newest release is HOW TO BE A VIGILANTE: A DIARY. This was just released on the 14th. I’m really looking forward to reading this one. I’m sure it will be a great read as all the others have been.

FROM AMAZON…….. It’s 1998. The internet age is still in its infancy. Google has just been founded. Eighteen year old supermarket shelf-stacker Nigel Carmelite has decided that he’s going to become a vigilante.
There are a few problems: how is he going to even find crime to fight on the streets of Derbyshire? How will he create a superhero costume – and an arsenal of crime-fighting weaponry – on a shoestring budget? And will his history of blackouts and crippling social inadequacy affect his chances?
This is Nigel’s account of his journey; part diary, part deluded self-help manual, tragically comic and slowly descending into what is arguably Luke Smitherd’s darkest and most violent novel.
What do you believe in? And more importantly …should you?

lukesmitherd2

https://www.amazon.com/How-Be-Vigilante-Luke-Smitherd-ebook/dp/B01J3YGF2K/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

This book can also be found on Amazon for $2.99.

You can find a complete list of all of Luke Smitherd’s books on his author page on Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/Luke-Smitherd/e/B007K1CY8S/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

Great person, great author, and no matter which book you read, it’s gonna be brilliant. Be sure to check him and his books out!!

Luke took time out of his busy schedule to answer a few questions.

You rock Luke, thanks a million!

1. What made you go into writing?

I’ve always loved making up stories, and I’ve always loved jobs where I don’t have to get up and go to work in the morning. More the latter than the former.

2. Did you read a lot growing up?

Yes, I read all the time when I was a kid. To the point where I got a Christmas card from another kid at school when I was about ten-years-old. It was a picture of a baby penguin sitting on a block of ice; the gag being that the penguin was on the toilet, and the kid that gave me the card had actually drawn a book in the penguin’s hands because I read so much.

3. How many books do you currently have available?

I have four novels, a book of collected novellas, two other novellas, and I have two new books coming out this year. My next book, “How to be a Vigilante: A Diary” comes out on September 14 of this year.

4. How do you come up with the ideas for your stories and how do you keep the storylines straight as you write?

I have a list in my phone for when an idea come to me. It’s always like a concept; it’s always like a “what if” idea, “what if this happened”, and I think where’s the story in that, and I sit down and thrash it out and note down stumbling blocks and try to keep it as straight as I can and as water tight in terms of logic.

5. What do you love most about writing?

When I know I’ve written something that’s sent the reader one way—or I try to hint it’s going one way—and then do a complete swerve and surprise them. There’s a particular moment in my novel, “In the Darkness, That’s Where I’ll Know You” where I would have loved to have seen some of the readers’ faces. A. I thought that when I wrote it; and B. Based on the emails I’ve had, it had the effect I thought it would.

6. Is there anything you hate about writing?

Yes. I hate that I can’t write as fast as I think. My shoulders get very, very tense after about half an hour of writing because I’m quite frustrated.

7. Do you have a favorite spot where you write?

No. I’m on the road a lot. I don’t like to write indoors, at home, or where I’m staying because I get cabin fever. Generally, I like to write out and about, any time of day. I actually have a playlist of instrumental music that I listen to while I work—so no lyrics—and I actually have an app that plays a sound that supposedly helps me concentrate. Whether it works or not, I don’t know.

8. If you could change anything about your books, would you?

I already did. I published, “The Stone Man”, which is my biggest book and then last year I trimmed about ten thousand words out of it. I’ve realized I have a tendency to be quite verbose so I’ve gone through one or two of the books and trimmed them a lot and I try to keep an eye on that as I write now.

9. If you could change places with anyone, would you? Who?

Off the top of my head, no, because you never really know what’s going on with somebody.

10. If you could live in any book for a day, what book would it be?

Although I didn’t like the book, I would say, “Ready, Player One” (by Ernest Cline), because I loved the idea of The Oasis.

11. If you hadn’t become an author, what do you think you would be doing?

Pro Wrestling 100%! Or, possibly more realistically, still a musician.

12. Which point of view do you like to write in and why?

There are pros and cons to both. My biggest book is all in the first person, and I like that because I like exploring the character’s thoughts a bit more clearly, and I can do that in the first person. Then again, writing in the third person means you can get on with it a little bit more, I think.

13. What does a typical day of writing look like?

A lot of procrastination, a lot of getting other things done, and then maybe hopefully on a good day, on a really good day maybe getting four hours in, but it tends to be anywhere from one to three, and a lot of other garbage I have to do in between.

14. How do you unwind after a day of writing?

I don’t really unless I’m actively trying to force myself to do more to unwind because unless I’m doing something with other people when I’m at home, I’ll work right until I go to bed. I’m realizing I shouldn’t do that. I’m trying to take more time to read or anything. So, the answer is, right now, that’s a work in progress.

15. If you were given the chance to be one of your characters, would you?

Absolutely not. Most of my characters don’t… I don’t think there are any of my characters I’d like to be. They tend to get a hard time.

16. What would the title of your autobiography be?

My brother and I used to always joke the title of my autobiography would be: “Faded and Fucked: The Luke Smitherd Story”. So let’s go with that.

17. Do you keep anything handy in case an idea comes to you out of the blue?

See earlier answer about my phone!

18. How do you think the classics inspire today’s authors?

While I think today’s authors, the good ones at least, are trying to find new things to do, the classics manipulate the reader’s emotions. I think that’s timeless. No matter how you execute it. I think those things are still important.

19. How do you celebrate when you finish a book?

I don’t really because when I finish the first draft I think that’s when the hard work starts—the redrafting and the messing around. I’m a procrastinating workaholic. Putting celebration time aside is something I need to do more often.

20. Do you use Twitter, a newsletter, a blog, or Facebook?

Yes, I do use Twitter. You can follow me @lukesmitherd. I have irregular updates on my website at lukesmitherd.com. Most frequently updated is the Facebook page at “Luke Smitherd Book Stuff”. Anyone who wants to find out more about my stuff I would recommend signing up on lukesmitherd.com for the “Spam-Free Book Release Newsletter”.

https://www.facebook.com/smitherdbooks/?fref=ts

http://lukesmitherd.com/

21. Any advice for future writers?

It’s a war of attrition. It took me five years before I got to the point where it was a full-time living. You will feel like you’re writing to no one. And all the pieces of advice you get—people say, “Hey, why don’t you do a giveaway to your readers”, and you look at your mailing list and you have twenty people and you think, “How is that going to help?” It’s just a case of plugging away, connecting with your readers, and don’t waste time blogging or trying to find fans through twitter. Use Twitter only as a way of connecting with people that want to connect with you.

Brilliant! Thank you again Luke for letting me spotlight you and your amazing books!!

Happy Reading

~TMB~

Leave a Reply

