May Spotlight is Michael Phillip Cash

MPCash

I’m honored to have MICHAEL PHILLIP CASH as this month’s author spotlight. What can i say about Michael, that I haven’t already?! Great friend, great author. Michael was last year’s May author spotlight and he was kind enough to let me interview him again. Since then, he has released some great books. HISTORY MAJOR, MONSTERLAND to name a few. Both great books, both will get your heart racing !! Actually, ALL of Michael’s books are great, spookishly delicious. Sci-fi series, Ghost stories, Witches, Bugs, Vampires, Zombies, and Werewolves.  Be sure to check them all out! You won’t sorry, that’s for sure.

http://www.amazon.com/Michael-Phillip-Cash/e/B00CEAC3VS/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1462456898&sr=1-1

Above is Michael’s Author Page on Amazon. His books range in price, from as low as $0.99 all the way to $3.99 kindle … or up to $12.99 in paperback. Well worth every penny! BROOD X is my personal favorite ($0.99 kindle). It’s about a town taken over by Cicadas. I totally hate bugs, so this creeped me out!! Felt like they were crawling all over me .. Loved it! HA! STILLWELL another favorite ($0.99 kindle). About a house that is on the market, and it’s haunted.  THE FLIP, and AFTER HOUSE … they are also ghost stories. Brilliantly written. MONSTERLAND is about a theme park with real Vampires, Zombies and Werewolves running around in it. Then all hell breaks loose.

No matter which book you pick up of Michael’s, you won’t be sorry.

Be sure to follow Michael on facebook and twitter.

@michaelpcash

Michael took time out of his busy busy schedule to answer a few questions for me.

1. It’s been a year since your last spotlight. New releases since then?

The second half of 2015 I released Monsterland and The History Major, two best-sellers in their categories.

2. What are we to look forward to from you next?

I just finished a paranormal mystery called ‘Dragged Down Deep’. A cryptozoologist must stop an amphibian humanoid from killing off an entire town. This is the first book in what will certainly become a series. I also just beat out a screenplay called ‘Neandythal’. A millennial is sent back 400,000 years and must navigate the Paleolithic era with a defunct smartphone and venti Starbucks coffee.

3. If you could live in a book for a day, which book would it be?

I don’t want to sound conceited, but I would love to live in Monsterland. Imagining that place was a blast, but actually going on the rides would be even more thrilling.

4. What would be the title of your autobiography?

‘Cold Hard Cash – How an Indie Writer Conquered Hollywood’

5. Is there anything you won’t write about?

A movie director asked me to write a script about a real guy in the 1800s who would eat sick people’s vomit to show that he was immune to their disease. I would have normally politely declined, but in this case, I said no ‘effing way.

6. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Teleporting. I hate flying, so I would love to teleport and be at my destination in seconds. Then if I don’t like that place, I can just teleport somewhere else

7. What do you love most about writing?

Telling incredible stories that affect people. There is nothing better than getting a review that says, “I’ve thought about your book days after I read it.” That’s catnip to me.

8. Is there anything you hate about writing?

Nope. Love everything about it.

9. How much research do you do for each book?

Tons! When I’m dealing with a subject that I think is interesting, but I know nothing about (like cryptozoology), I read up as much as I can on it. Google is my best friend.

10. If you could be one of your characters, who would you pick to be? Why?

Telly Martin in ‘Pokergeist’. I would love my very own ghost telling me what everyone else’s cards are while I play poker. It would be a Cash Cow. No pun intended.

11. Which book would you like to see in the big screen?

Monsterland without a doubt. Who wouldn’t want to see a movie about a theme park whose main attractions – real werewolves, vampires and zombies – descend the place into chaos? It would be the number one movie that summer! Guaranteed!

12. You write both series and stand alone books, which do you prefer to write? To read?

I love to leave my books open-ended. It allows me to think about expanding the universe beyond if a series is needed. I do prefer writing series. I have a hard time saying goodbye to characters I’ve grown so accustomed to knowing.

13. If you don’t mind sharing, 1 thing we would be surprised to know about you.

I have a massively, enormous, gigantic, gargantuan, titanic-sized tongue. Gene Simmons would be jealous.

14. If you could meet any author past or present, who would it be?

Michael Crichton. I love his books. Wish he was still here.

15. POV, which one do you like to write in? Why one over the other?

It feels more comfortable and I don’t put myself into the character- they seem like real personalities to me that way. I am tempted to write one in the first person, but I am afraid I will end up taking over the story. I also like to include both male and female protagonists and I feel it’s more honest this way.

16. Are you ever afraid of running out of ideas?

Never! I have ten new ideas I’m working on now. There is always room for new stories – even if you take something old and mash it up. My new book ‘Dragged Down Deep’ is my take on the ‘Creature from the Black Lagoon’. ‘Neandythal’ is my ‘Martian’.

17. Do you have a favorite spot and time to write?

Research and development is between 9am and 4pm. Writing begins at 7pm in my den with the Food Network on in the background. I usually write until my eyes go, every night.

18. How do you keep track of events and characters as you write?

Every story I’ve ever written is beat out beforehand. I view writing a book as a roadmap. If I don’t plan out my story beforehand, I will be lost. I’ve done that before and it doesn’t work well for me. Every character has an arc that I trace from beginning to end. When I have all their arcs and ideas written down, I then write the screenplay…then the novel. It’s a fun and creative process

19. Anything handy to write down an idea invade one hits you out of the blue?

My cellphone is on me 24/7. When an idea strikes I email myself immediately.

20. How do you celebrate when you finish a book?

Either with a night out at a great restaurant with my family, or a craps game in Vegas.

Thank you again Michael!!! You are a rock star.

Happy Reading Everyone

~TMB~

Leave a Reply

