The Eighth Day by Joseph John

TheEighthDay

Since my sister talked me into joining Twitter, I have met a fair number of great authors. Joseph John is one said author! THE EIGHTH DAY is Joseph John’s debut novel. It grips you from page one and doesn’t let go until you reach the very end. A nonstop thriller, that will have your heart pumping, and losing sleep. For you will be up reading well past your normal bedtime. I did me. 🙂

The book starts out with Shawn Jaffe, sitting in a diner, having coffee. A stranger comes up to him, and says 3 life changing sentence.

“Nothing you know is real. Your name isn’t Shawn Jaffe. You’re not an investment broker, and you’re not from Ohio”

Before Shawn can find what the stranger meant, the stranger is gunned down.

The twists and turns that happen throughout this book are awesome. You will not see what’s coming! Just like Shawn, you will not know who to trust. You won’t know what is real, or what is what “THEY” want you to think. Who are THEY you ask? Buy the book and find out! You won’t be disappointed!

As Shawn gets closer to finding out the truth, the more people are after him. What will happen when all is made clear????

I could not put this book down. Full of suspense, action, murder, mayhem and mystery.

THE EIGHTH DAY isn’t released until March 31, 2016, and so far only in paperback. $14.99

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0692529047?keywords=The%20Eighth%20Day%20by%20Joseph%20John&qid=1454253354&ref_=sr_1_1&sr=8-1

Joseph is currently serving in the US ARMY and stationed in Italy for a 3 year stint. He took time out of his extremely busy life to answer a couple questions so us new readers can get to know him a little bit better.

Joseph John can be found on facebook

https://www.facebook.com/josephjohnfiction/?fref=ts

He can also be found on twitter @josephjohn

1. What do you love most about being an author?

Stories are my passion. Whether it’s movies, television, or books, it doesn’t matter. I love them. I love being captivated by a writer, losing myself to the story and its characters. It’s like, for that period when I’m staring at the screen or flipping the pages, I’m right there with them, experiencing their fear, frustration, anger, joy, failures, and triumphs. There’s nothing like a well-crafted story. You know what I mean. The kind that pulls you in and keeps you up all night, whether it be a Netflix marathon or hunched over your Kindle with eyes wide and heart pounding until the break of dawn.

And for me, writing is like that, too, only better. Because those are characters I created, and sometimes they leap right off the page and do things that amaze me. It’s incredible to create a world, really immerse yourself in it, and see where the story takes you.

But I think what I love most about being an author is being able to share those stories with others. It’s so rewarding to create a story and have someone read it and experience it. You create a protagonist, an antagonist or two, and all the supporting cast. It’s this totally fictional world, but for a little while, they come to life. Now it’s your story people are losing themselves to. I mean, how incredible is that? Whenever I get an email or a message on Twitter of Facebook or whatever, and it’s someone who’s read my book and took the time to reach out and let me know how much they loved it…well, it’s kind of hard to have a bad day after that.

2. If you could live in any book for a day, which book would you pick?

This is kind of cheesy, but I’m going to have to go with Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire. J.K. Rowling created an absolutely amazing world in her Harry Potter series. Can you imagine what it would be like wandering the halls of Hogwarts, attending a Defence Against the Dark Arts class, shopping in Diagon Alley, and watching a Quidditch match or the Triwizard Tournament in person? A lot of authors have tried to mimic Rowling, but I don’t think anyone has come close. The entire Harry Potter series is brilliant with incredible characters and a wizarding world that’s become a part of our culture.

3. Personally, THE EIGHTH DAY is brilliant. Will there be more books in the near future?

Of course! I’ve actually started on the next book, which is going to be something very different, in more ways than one.

When I wrote The Eighth Day, I pretty much made it up as I went. I had absolutely no idea where I was going, and I let the characters decide what would happen next. In the authoring world that’s called “writing by the seat of your pants,” and I know this is how many authors write, most notably Stephen King. It may work for him and them, but to be honest, I would have saved myself a lot of late nights and heartache if I’d plotted things out.

Between starting The Eighth Day and finishing it, I read countless book on story structure. Three in particular stand out. They were: Story, Substance, Structure, Style, and the Principles of Screenwriting by Robert McKee; Save the Cat! by Blake Snyder; and The Writer’s Journey: Mythic Structure for Writers by Christopher Vogler. McKee’s and Snyder’s books deal mostly with screenwriting, but the principles of story still apply.

Not only did I have some major plot holes that needed filling, but I realized I’d also created a passive protagonist and a weak antagonist that was definitely not a worthy adversary for my hero. I did a complete rewrite. First, I moved the story about thirty years into the future and added all that new technology to the setting. Then I rewrote Shawn Jaffe to be an active protagonist instead of reactive, and I added a new antagonist for him to battle. That’s right. The Alpha did not exist in the first version of the book.

It’s a completely different story and about a thousand times better than the first draft. It was like having to write two books—which is essentially what I’d done—to produce the final draft. If I’d plotted things out, or at least had a rough outline, I don’t think I would have had that problem. So this next book, I’m plotting.

It’s also a very different kind of book. It’s not a thriller. It’s a pseudo-fictional story about my deployment to Iraq. I’m taking all the crazy stories that have happened to me or that I’ve heard during my seventeen-year career in the Army, exaggerating them, and packing them all into one year in Iraq. Keep in mind, while I was deployed I wasn’t patrolling the streets and dodging roadside bombs. I worked on a multi-national staff for the bigwigs running the war in one of Saddam’s palaces. I was in charge of things like photo shoots for the commanding general, helipad dedications, conferences, and change of command ceremonies. It’s going to be a dry-humor coming-of-age comedy. Think Catcher in the Rye, or Mash meets The Office.

4. You have a favorite book to read?

11/22/63 is my favorite book of all time. My favorite subject, time travel, and combine it with my favorite author, Stephen King? Yes, please!

As far as re-readability, though, I’d have to go with The Stand, also by Stephen King. I’ve read the unabridged version four times.

Honorable mention goes to The Harry Potter series, Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood, The Dark Tower Series and It by Stephen King, Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger, and Replay by Ken Grimwood.

 

THANKS A MILLION Joseph for letting me ready your brilliant book before it comes out. Loved it!! I know it will be a smash hit!! THANK YOU for answering a couple questions for me, and for my blog. THANK YOU for doing what you do, for serving this great Nation. Enjoy Italy, Take care and stay safe.

Happy Reading Everyone

~TMB~

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Eighth Day by Joseph John

  1. Pingback: Review of The Eighth Day on Tina's Bookcase - Joseph John Fiction

Leave a Reply

