FEBRUARY AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT, TOBY TATE

DIABLEROTobyTate2.jpg

Where has the year gone? Hard to believe I have been at this book blog for a whole year. When the idea was given to me, I had no idea how much fun it truly would be. As my 1 year anniversary, I thought it would be fitting to spotlight my very first author again. To see how things have gone since we’ve last chatted with him. So, dear readers, welcome back ……. TOBY TATE.

Toby has been busy writing, and playing music. He had 3 books released (LILITU TRILOGY) and 1 re-release (DIABLERO) at the end of 2015.  Each book just as brilliant as his last. Toby’s books are always great, always entertaining, and you will always want more. Toby’s books are full of twists, turns, and bound to spook you good! I have read everything Toby has put on the page, and loved every word he has written.

What can I say about Toby that I haven’t already said … he’s so damn talented. You would a fool if you pass him by. Check him out …. buy his books!

http://www.amazon.com/Toby-Tate/e/B004C31WNK/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1454254445&sr=1-2-ent

Above link is to Toby’s Amazon.com Author page. You can’t go wrong with any of his books. His books come in paperback and Kindle, (Kindle $2.99 to $5.99).

Toby can be found on facebook

https://www.facebook.com/toby.tate.3

Twitter @TobyTate

Toby took time out of his busy busy life to answer some questions.

1. You have had some new releases since you were last spotlighted. Please tell us about them.

Well, I recently released THE LILITU sci-fi trilogy with Permuted Press. It begins where my novel LILITH leaves off, sort of gives more background on the Lilith legend and takes it to another level. They also re-released my very first novel, DIABLERO, a story about Blackbeard the pirate who is raised from the dead and wreaks havoc on the eastern seaboard.

2. Do you think the classics influence today’s writings?

When I worked in a bookstore, I read as many classics as I could – Animal Farm, Lord of the Flies, Brave New World, The Fountainhead. We encourage our daughter to read them, and she loves them. I think more parents should do that. I’m not sure people really read the classics anymore, unfortunately.

3. With today’s indie authors, do you think the main stream authors intimidate and / or inspire?

I guess that depends on an author’s personality. I attended Thrillerfest in Manhattan last summer and had the chance to rub elbows with Nelson DeMille, Lee Child, Clive Cussler—basically all the authors that I read and admire. Listening to them speak was, to me, inspirational, because I want to be where they are in their careers. I have asked many of those same authors to endorse my books, and they have! So while it can be intimidating to meet some of these authors and especially to ask them to read your work, indie authors can’t afford to let that fear get in the way of forming relationships with them. Don’t be intimidated, be bold! It will pay off.

4. Which book of yours would you like to see on the big screen?

All of them – ha ha! Seriously, though, I recently finished a screenplay for my novel Lilith, a book that I always felt would be perfect for the big screen. So much so, in fact, that I am shopping the screenplay around Hollywood. Movies are an extremely tough business to break into, but if you never try, you never win, right?

5. Do you have a favorite book that you never get tired of reading?

Yeah – the Bible. I know people are going to laugh, but seriously, there are some timeless stories in there and the writing, especially the King James, is phenomenal. I mean, look at the Song of Solomon, Psalms or Proverbs—some of the most beautiful prose ever written. And talk about action and adventure—just read Genesis sometime. It’s awesome. Also, I love Ray Bradbury’s Martian Chronicles. I think I’ve read that thing a million times. It just never gets old.

6. Do you keep anything handy in case a story idea hits you?

Actually, no. But I should. I have some very bizarre dreams that would make excellent stories.

7. What do you love most about writing and being an author?
That would have to be meeting new people. I am somewhat of a recluse because of the solitude required to write, so getting out to a book signing or a book-related event excites me. I’m also a performing musician, so I get to meet a lot of people that way, as well. I love signing autographs, answering questions, asking people about their lives and where they come from. The people are what makes this writing thing worthwhile.

8. How do you come up with your titles and characters’ names?

Titles are easy. It usually centers around the main character of the book, i.e. Lilith, Diablero, The Cain Prophecy, etc. Character names are a little tougher, especially foreign ones. It takes some research.

9. Name 1 thing we would be surprised to know about you. (if you don’t mind sharing)

People would probably be surprised to know I’m a Christian because of the types of books I write. Most of my characters use naughty language, there’s a lot of violence, some blood and gore, and my book LILITH has some pretty raunchy sex scenes. But everything in my books is central to the story. There’s no sex or violence thrown in for its own sake. I just tell the story the way it is, without filters. Besides, anyone who has read the Bible knows it has some of the most violent, sex-filled scenes imaginable. That’s just life.

10. Why isn’t LILITH part of THE LILITU series?

Because it had a different publisher. I never intended to write a trilogy—it just happened. Originally, it was just going to be LILITH and PRIMORDIAL. But my last publisher was uninterested in publishing a sequel, and then Permuted Press picked it up. By that time I already had a third book, THE CAIN PROPHECY, partially written. So I asked Michael Wilson, the president of Permuted Press, if they would be interested in a novella that would sort of tie-in LILITH with the other two books and he said yes. So we made it a trilogy.

11. Do you have a favorite swear word?

No clear favorites. Whichever one fits the moment.

12. Do you have a favorite place to write?

The man cave.

13. How do you keep track of events and people as you write?

I usually outline before I write and I also make lists of characters. If a character has been in more than one book, I’ll write the back story from those other books next to their name.

14. If you could live in a book for a day, which book would it be?

Hmmm…that’s a good one. It would be pretty awesome to be in the Martian Chronicles. I love the world that Bradbury created, so surreal and ethereal.

15. Have you ever thought about writing something from another genre? Maybe a kids book? Or a romance?

I actually wrote a young adult book called THE GOD PARTICLE. But it was sci-fi, so it wasn’t that much of a jump. I like to stick to genres I know—sci-fi, horror and fantasy. Even if I tried to write a straight thriller, the supernatural would find its way in somehow.

16. Is there anything you are afraid of?

Spiders. And heights. I REALLY don’t like flying.

17. If your life was a story, what would the title be?

Toby Tate’s Tragedies and Triumphs.

18. Do you have a favorite time of day to write?

Not really. I write all day and all night, usually until I go to bed. After I finish this interview, I’ll be writing.

19. What are you currently working on?

I’m working on a sequel to a new series about a DC police detective named Shaun Patrick who is hired as the only member of the DCPD’s Occult Crime Squad. He gets into some really weird shit. The first book has been picked up for publication, but I haven’t signed the contract yet. When I do, I’ll post the news on my Facebook and Twitter accounts. It’s pretty exciting.

20. What are you currently reading?

I am reading a book by two of my favorite authors, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, called THE BLUE LABYRINTH. I highly recommend it!

Anyone who wants more info on me or my books can find me online at http://www.tobytatestories.com or find me on Facebook or Twitter.

Thanks for the awesome interview, Tina!

My pleasure Toby!! Thank you for letting me Spotlight you again.

You truly are a rock star to me!

~TMB~

 

Leave a Reply

