OCTOBER AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT is DALLAS MULLICAN

charon dallas

Dear Readers, I would like to introduce you to DALLAS MULLICAN. New author whose debut book is titled A COIN FOR CHARON. It’s a brilliant book by an awesome guy. I met Dallas just a little bit ago on FaceBook. Hit it off from day 1. He’s witty, funny, awesome, an all around great guy. Brilliant author too. What can I tell you about Dallas? After retiring from making music, he put pen to paper and started writing. He knows his stuff, books and music. He’s opened my mind to metal music  (what he played when he was in a band) and has exposed me to some of the best indie horror authors out there, (you will meet some, future Author Spotlights).

Dallas’ debut book is just brilliant. I read it, in just a couple days. Full of suspense, heart, and hope. It follows the lives of 4 main people, the killer, the cop, the doctor, and the sick. I would be giggling in spot, and sobbing in the next.

From Amazon .. The media has dubbed him the Seraphim Killer. He believes the gods have charged him to release the chosen, those for whom life has become an unbearable torment. Gabriel feels their suffering—his hands burn, his skull thunders, his stomach clenches. Once they are free, he places coins on their eyes to pay Charon for passage into paradise.

Detective Marlowe Gentry has spent the past two years on the edge. The last serial killer he hunted murdered his wife before his eyes and left his young daughter a mute shell. Whenever she looks at him, her dead eyes push him farther into a downward spiral of pain and regret. He sees the Seraphim as an opportunity for revenge, a chance to forgive himself―or die trying.

http://www.amazon.com/Coin-Charon-Marlowe-Gentry-Book-ebook/dp/B0159B318W/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1443791067&sr=8-1&keywords=A+Coin+for+Charon … only $5.99 for Kindle copy.

A COIN FOR CHARON is book 1 in the Marlowe Gentry series. I do hope you give Dallas and his book(s) a try. You would be missing out on so much if you didn’t.

Be sure to follow him on facebook. Learn about what he’s working on, what’s about to be released, and the reasons why we adore him so much. A true friend.

https://www.facebook.com/dallas.mullican.5?fref=ts

Dallas did take time out of his crazy schedule to answer a few questions….. Thanks a million Dallas … you are a rock star.

1. Did you read a lot growing up?
Constantly. I was a bit of nerd until I bloomed into a full-blown geek. I could read at an early age and devoured books. Early on, our elementary school had a collection of biographies in the library—George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Daniel Boone, you get the picture. I picked up my first Stephen King, Salem’s Lot, in about the 6th grade and was hooked. I lived on authors like King, Robert McMammon, and Clive Barker.

2. What is your all time favorite book?
A Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

3. The Classics, How do you think they inspire today’s stories & writings?
Completely. I fell in love with Poe and Lovecraft in high school. Faulkner, Fitzgerald, and so many others in college. The natural progression from Milton to Virgil to Shakespeare shows how we learn and build on what has come before as artists. If you can’t read well, you can’t write well. You see the same thing in music—Haydn to Mozart to Beethoven—and all art forms. Nothing is new, only variations told for our own time and culture. Sensibilities change, but the basics of human endeavor and values do not.

4. Who are your influences?
So many. Those mentioned above, but I’m also influence heavily by philosophy, particularly the Existentialists—Sartre, Nietzsche, Kierkegaard, and Camus. The writers, like Dostoevsky and Kafka. Present authors that have influenced me would be Steven Erikson, Neil Gaiman, and Thomas Harris.

5. What made you go from making music to Author?
Apparently, I’m impossible to get along with according to my ex-wife and my old band mates. After 20 years in music, I needed to find a creative outlet than didn’t require me getting along with four other guys. I miss it sometimes, and still have a love for it. I have to rely on my many metalhead friends to keep me entertained.

6. A Coin for Charon is your debut book (CONGRATULATIONS). How did you come up with the story idea?
You know, I don’t really know. I wrote a short story a while back called At Random With Reason that had similarities. I’m guessing that idea was still in a dark closet somewhere and peeked out one day. I read a good deal of Thomas Harris, Boris Starling, and John Connelly years ago, so I’m sure they were whispering inside the ol’ noggin a bit too.
I’ve always enjoyed learning about serial killers, the why and how. I noticed a formula emerge in fiction dealing with the subject and wanted to play with those troupes and try to do something a bit different. Go in a more character driven direction, and focus on psychology and philosophy while still trying to tell a compelling, entertaining story.

7. How long did it take to write?
The draft, a month or so. Edits, betas, and revisions another month or two. Charon is my second novel. The first one took about 20 years, ha. Worked off and on for years, little bits here and there, without any real idea of where it was going. The end result was a pretty strange amalgamation of my interests—existentialism, literature, music. Might rework it one day and allow it to see the light of day. I learned a ton from the practice, and once music ended for me, I started working at the craft more seriously. I enlisted authors who were way ahead of me, used what they taught me along with my background in English and Charon moved a lot more quickly.

8. Is it a start to a long series?
There will be at least two more in the series. We’ll see how it goes from there. If readers continue to enjoy Marlowe and his pals, I certainly wouldn’t mind writing more.

9. What are you currently working on now?
I have the first book in a dark fantasy trilogy in the pipeline with my publisher, which should come out before too long. I recently finished up the draft on the follow up to Charon, and I’m working on edits now.

10. What do you love most about writing?
Writing THE END! And getting feedback from readers. That’s the best part, for someone to say the book meant something to them, and it elicited some kind of emotional reaction.

11. How do you deal with writers block? if it has ever happened.
Writer’s block isn’t so much a problem for me. Motivation I do sometimes struggle with. I get spells where the words don’t flow as well due to being tired, stressed, or preoccupied with something else. During those times, I try to keep up the habit and write a bit every day. I usually snap out of it at some point, ha.

12. Past or Present author, who would you enjoy meeting and getting to know?
Hmm, most of my favorites seem to have been surly, misanthropes, or depressive alcoholics. So, I’d fit in with any of them, ha. Neil Gaiman seems like he would be interesting to know, and I’d love to pick Steven Erikson’s brain someday.

13. Do you have a dream co-author?
Hell no. I got into this to avoid working with others.

14. Main Stream vs Indie Author. Do you think one is more popular then the other? Why?
No idea, really. Whatever catches on with the most readers will of course be most popular. Since the mainstream tends to push popular styles and well-known names, and indies often allow greater experimentation with lesser-known authors, mainstream will always have a leg up in that area. That’s not to say an indie doesn’t catch fire, or a mainstream book can’t challenge and be unique, but in the norm it seems to be the case.

15. When you write, do you enjoy music or silence in the background?
I need music playing. Depends on my mood what it will be. I listen to a lot of soundtracks such as those by Hans Zimmer, James Horner, Phillip Glass, and Danny Elfman.

16. What does a typical day of writing look like?
I usually write for a couple of hours. Take a break. Mess around with my friends on Facebook, watch something on TV, read some, maybe a video game, ha. Then back at it for another couple of hours, alternating all day.

17. What do you enjoy doing during your free time?
Reading, watching movies and some favorite TV shows. Spending time with my daughter when she can fit me in most of all.

18. What things do you look for in a book that you read?
Subject matter and style. I can’t read a book on a subject I love if the writing is bad, and I can’t read a well-written book on a subject I have no interest in.

19. What song would be your theme song?
Hmm, so many great songs. My favorite album is King Diamond’s Abigail. But if I have to pick a song that best describes my life, I guess it would be Gloom, Despair, and Agony on Me from the Hee Haw show, ha.

20. Name 1 thing people would be surprised to know about you.
I was an all-county wide receiver in high school. I had a chance to play college football, junior college, not the big time, but the summer before I was to attend camp, I was working tarring a barn roof. I fell off and broke both of my arms. No one was around, so I drove home with two broken arms. I woke my dad up and told him I thought I was hurt bad because I was bleeding out of one ear. He said no, I had cut my face and it ran into my ear, but why were my arms flopping in circles? Ha. Needless to say, no football for me with pins in both elbows.

21. What is your favorite swear word?
I don’t swear much. I don’t have a problem with it, I just hope I can think of better ways to express myself. Still, there is a difference between being mad and being fucking mad. So, I reserve my profanity for making an impact.

22. Do you have a favorite family memory? If you don’t mind sharing.
One Christmas, my parents were so excited for me and my brother to see our presents; they woke us up at midnight and told us it was Christmas morning. We opened the presents and played for a while and all went back to bed.

23. Any advice for future Authors?
I’ll give the same advice my father gave me when I joined my first band. Son, he said, music is tough, musicians are a dime a dozen. If you can do anything else and be happy, do anything else. Ha. But if you do it, give your everything, with the confidence and work ethic to succeed, and the humility to listen to others who know more than you.

Dallas, I can not thank you enough for doing this for me. You are a great friend, amazing person, and a brilliant author. I am honored and happy that our paths have crossed. Wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

Rock On!

~TMB~

2 thoughts on “OCTOBER AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT is DALLAS MULLICAN

Leave a Reply

