AUGUST AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT is KEITH DEININGER

Keith Black and White Happy child with painted hands

I met Keith on Facebook, through one of my many author friends. Great guy, super nice and super fun to chat with. Honored to call him a friend.

http://www.amazon.com/Keith-Deininger/e/B00B2FI2L6/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1438950881&sr=1-1  (his author page)

Keith has 7 books available on Amazon.  I have read SHADOW ANIMALS. It is a great spooky book. It is currently only $0.99 ebook form

http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Animals-Keith-Deininger-ebook/dp/B00L8500A6/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Saul, who has lived his entire life on the edge of the Copperton Forest–known for its strange and unusual wildlife–knows little about what stalks him. He knows only that it is dark, and powerful, and unnamable–and that it has stolen his nine-year-old son, Ezzy, from him.

Now he must travel into those ethereal woods, further upriver than he’s ever gone, into a wondrous, yet surreal and nightmarish world unlike anything he’s ever known, to recover his son from the shadows, if he can survive the journey…

~ I loved this book. Spooky in all the right places. Looking forward to the rest of Keith’s books. His other titles include…The Hallow, Within, Fevered Hills, Marrow’s Pit, The New Flesh, and Ghosts of Eden.

Keith took time out of his extremely busy schedule to answer a few questions.

THANKS KEITH. 🙂

1. Did you read a lot as a kid?

In grade school I was diagnosed with a reading disability, but my parents used to read to me, so I have fond memories of the Narnia books and Roald Dahl. When I was older, the doctors discovered my reading problems were due to lazy muscles in my eyes. Later, I read a lot of fantasy and then a ton of Stephen King in high school.

2. Your favorite childhood book?

George’s Marvelous Medicine by Roald Dahl. I loved/love that one.

3. Do you have a favorite book and author?

I go through “cycles of obsession” with various authors. Right now, I love Margaret Atwood. Her MaddAddam books are phenomenal. A couple of my all time favorite books, however, that I read and reference over and over, are Imajica by Clive Barker and The Talisman by King and Straub.

4. Who are you currently reading?

I’ve been reading a lot of dark fantasy. I recently read M. John Harrison’s Viriconium books and I’m finally caught up on George Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire books. Next up, I’m thinking of working my way through a few contemporary horror titles, some Tom Piccirilli, Gary Braunbeck, Ronald Malfi.

5. What does a typical day of writing look like?

I work fulltime, so I’ve learned to snatch moments of writing time here and there. Everyday at lunch, I take my laptop and pound out a few words. It’s amazing how much I’m able to get done over time by doing this. Then, on the weekends, I get up early, throw some clothes on, and go to the coffee shop to get as much work as I can before the day starts.

6. How long does it take you to write a book?

I’m getting faster. Mostly, I think, because I’m now able to see and scope out the path of an entire project in my head, which I couldn’t do before. Now that I’ve written a few novels, I know what to expect. With my current schedule, I can write the first draft of a novel in 3-4 months, then a couple more months for re-writes and editing.

7. Away from writing, how do you like to spend your time?

I read a lot, of course. I watch a lot of movies. I spend a lot of time with my wife. I walk the dogs. I enjoy camping. I love wilderness and quiet places. Oh, and I’m also a little bit of a foodie and enjoy cooking.

8. If Hollywood came knocking, which book of yours would you like to see made into a movie?

The New Flesh, my first novel, is probably the most cinematic of all my work. The title itself is a comment on horror movies, a reference to Cronenberg’s Videodrome. It has some extreme moments, but could be good. I also wouldn’t mind seeing my latest novel, The Godgame, made into a series or something. That is, as long as whoever is making it stays away from CGI.

9. Who would you like to see staring in it?

I don’t know. I can’t picture anyone. I wouldn’t like to see anyone too Hollywood.

10. When you write, do you like music playing or silence in the background?

I can’t write with music I like playing in the background, too distracting, but I don’t like silence either. I work best with people around me chatting quietly, as long as they let me work. That’s why I work in coffee shops a lot.

11. Who would be your dream co-writer?

I’d like to spend time in Clive Barker’s studio some time, watching him work, asking questions, hanging out. Over the next couple of weeks, we’d start to come up with something together, something sinister and imaginative.

12. What authors have influenced you?

Stephen King, Peter Straub, Clive Barker, China Mieville, J. G. Ballard, to name a few.

13. If you could change anything about your books, would you?

Yeah, probably. If I could, I’d go through each one of my published books and re-write them. I always feel like I could make them better, but I have to let them go.

14. If yes, which book(s) and what would you change?

The problem is that if I started re-writing one of my early novels like The New Flesh or Ghosts of Eden, I’d end up completely changing them and then they’d be different books.

15. Past / Present author, who would you like to meet?

I wouldn’t say no to an invite to a barbeque with the Kings. Hanging out and talking literature. Good times.

16. Have you always wanted to be an author?

Growing up I wanted to design video games. And then I was going to be an architect. But by the time I left home and was living on my own, I was telling everyone I was a writer, usually while drunk. For a long time I was one of those people who told everyone I was a writer, but I wasn’t actually writing. It took me years to develop the discipline to learn how to write and re-write before I had anything worthy of publication.

17. If you weren’t an author, what do you think you would be doing?

If I didn’t direct my thoughts and imagination into my writing, I’d be playing a lot of very complicated nerd games. I’d probably be working in a game store and spend my free time playing in Magic: the Gathering tournaments and painting Warhammer figures. I used to do a lot of that stuff, but I had to give it all up so that I could write. I miss that stuff sometimes, but the call of my writing is stronger.

18. How many books do you have available?

I have seven titles on Amazon, including 3 horror novels. Within is my latest, very dark and creepy. I have another horror novel called Road of Sand and Shadow that I’m shopping around right now, and the first book in my dark fantasy series The Godgame is currently hot and trending on the Kindle Scout site.

19. Any new released coming out?

Yes, please take a moment to nominate The Godgame for publication by going to this site. All you need is an Amazon account and you’ll get a free Kindle copy of the book when it’s published. Thanks in advance! https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/SJ7PI6EZXE49

20. Any advice for future authors?

Building a successful writing career is a long term game. Keep going. Perseverance is the key. Stick with it and keep producing and you might just make it. Reading is intellectual freedom!

~

I really hope you all give Keith’s books a read. You won’t be disappointed.

Thank you Keith again for letting me spotlight you and your books. You are awesome!! Rock Star!

~TMB~

Leave a Reply

